Being compar’d

I waded my way through our lounge bookshelves yesterday, wiping, hoovering, and blowing until I was engulfed in a cloud of spiders’ webs. ‘I love Kindle,’ I thought.

Then I came across my old Macbeth. I first read it at school, and I’d pulled it out of the archives last week, as my eldest was asking about Shakespeare. It has to be thirty years since I jotted down my notes, but I remember reading it in class, clear as day, as I wrestled with the beautiful old language. English Lit was my favourite subject (that and biology, how different my life might have been if the coin had landed…)

I showed my son; he was fascinated by my childish handwriting:

1985

It was about to get better; an hour later, in a different part of our library, I found Martha’s Macbeth. Martha was my great grandmother, and a teacher (also the inspiration behind my old pen name). I have a selection of her books and several contain notes, but mostly (like mine) they are in childish scrawl. This was written in a more sophisticated hand:

pre-1920

I don’t know enough about Martha to pinpoint when she might have read Macbeth; she died when my grandmother was only six. All I know is that this was written between 1900 (publication date) and about 1920, when she died.

I’m holding the copy that she held, reading the words she wrote, and I know that sixty or seventy years after she absorbed Macbeth, I did the same, and we underlined the same words.


 

Sep 2016 update: my younger son has just been told he will be studying Macbeth after half-term! Yeyyy! Wish I could grab Martha for a cup of tea and say, ‘Look, Martha, our boy!’ 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Being compar’d”

    1. Hi Rachel, yes, it made the spider webs a lot easier to bear*! My Nan used to talk about Martha a lot, so links to her feel very precious.

      (*I can’t abide spiders but Sid, Bert and Alf are allowed to be library custodians).

      Like

    1. It is, I had some lovely moments. I’ll post another time about my Nan’s cookery book, and provide excerpts. Her handwritten notes are very special.

      Like

    1. It’s funny, old schoolbooks hold such strong memories. I can remember the rooms, the friends, the pens and desks, the smell of ink and books (and dust, and feet…).

      Like

Share your thoughts